The Diocesan Council

Episcopal Diocese of Michigan



September 20, 2014 Teleconference Meeting Limited Business Meeting – APPROVED Minutes

Council Members Present:

Lizzie Anderson, Rae Lee Baxter, Ron Byrd, Cindy Corner, George Davinich, Don Dersnah, Claudia Hamlin, Clare Hickman, Deon Johnson, Patty Klaver, Rob Matras, Richard Pina, Jenny Ritter, Indira Samuels, Judith Schellhammer, Rob Sherry, Geoffrey Smereck, Rick Smith, Bill Stech, Patrice Thornton, Roger Weekes, Edie Wakevainen (Secretary), Mark Miliotto (Treasurer)

Absent: Bishop Wendell N. Gibbs (excused), Joyce Matthews (excused), Liam O'Connor (without notice)

Diocesan Staff: Rick Schulte (Record Editor), Jo Ann Hardy (Diocesan Administrator)

9:30 **Call to Order** – Mark Miliotto

Roll Call – Edie Wakevainen

Opening Prayer - Ron Byrd

Approval of Minutes from June 28, 2014 – Edie Wakevainen

Motion was made and properly seconded to accept the minutes as corrected. *Motion passed*.

Financial Report – Rob Sherry and Mark Miliotto

Motion to approve the 2015 Final Proposed Budget (\$2,264,598) and 2016 Budget Draft (\$2,309,889) was made and properly seconded. *Motion passed*.

Opportunity Resource Fund Renewal – Mark Miliotto

Motion was made and properly seconded to renew an investment of \$200,000 at 3% for 5 years in the Opportunity Resource Fund. *Motion passed*.

HR Committee – Clergy Compensation Policy – Jo Ann Hardy

Motion was made and properly seconded to approve the Clergy Compensation Policy, post it on the Diocesan website, and distribute it to congregations. *Motion passed*.

Thanks to Retiring Council Members – Jo Ann Hardy

The following individuals were sincerely thanked for their service on Diocesan Council: George Davinich, Ron Byrd, Geoffrey Smereck, Rob Matras, Patty Klaver, Cindy Corner, Jenny Ritter, Liam O'Connor

10:40 **Adjournment**

Closing Prayer – Ron Byrd

Next Meeting:

TYPHE TYPE BING.		
Meeting Date & Time	Agenda/Focus	Location
Saturday, November 22, 2014	Full Business Meeting, which	St. Paul's Episcopal Church,
9:00am – 3:00pm	includes Orientation, Elections, and	Brighton, MI
	Committee Assignments	