Offices Open for Nomination The 186th Convention of the Diocese of Michigan

For the 186th Convention of the Diocese, the Committee on Nominations and Elections is required to nominate **no fewer** than **one greater than**, and **no more than twice**, the number of persons to be elected to the following offices:

Cathedral Chapter (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 3 year term begins December 2020
Commission on Ministry (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 5 year term begins November 2020
Delegate to the Provincial Synod (1 clergy, 2 lay) *Must be a member of the current General Convention Deputation*Disciplinary Board (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 2 year term begins January 2021
Standing Committee (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 4 year term begins November 2020

and from a list provided by the Bishop of the Diocese:

Trustees of the Diocese (1 clergy, 3 lay) - 4 year term begins December 2020

A brief description of the purpose and function of the offices for which persons are to be elected, and the specific qualifications for nominees, follows.

The Cathedral Chapter - consists of eighteen people representing the Bishop, the Diocesan Convention, and the Vestry of the Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Detroit. They have the responsibility to oversee those activities at the Diocesan-Cathedral Center which are not those of a parish church. This includes property matters, tenant relationships, activities not intended for parochial purposes, and supporting the activities of the Diocese. It is the agency which operates the common space of the Diocesan-Cathedral Center at 4800 Woodward Avenue in Detroit. The term of office is 3 years. The Chapter <u>meets quarterly</u> at the Cathedral. *See, Canon 2.5.3.* For more information about the Chapter, contact the Dean of the Cathedral, the Very Rev. S. Scott Hunter at <u>shunter@detroitcathedral.org</u>.

The Commission on Ministry - assists the Bishop in development and affirmation of the ministry of all baptized persons. Among the duties of the Commission is the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry and assessment of readiness for it. It is to support and nurture persons accepted as postulants through ordination. This body has broad responsibilities for lifting up the opportunities for ministry of the word in this Diocese and the world. The Commission consists of the Bishop and 20 other members – 10 clergy who are *entitled to vote at convention* and 10 laypersons each of whom must be *confirmed adult communicants in good standing* of a

congregation entitled to vote at convention. One-half are elected by members of convention, and the other half are appointed by the Bishop. One member of clergy and one layperson will be elected. **The term of office is 5 years.** The Commission <u>meets monthly</u> except in July and August at the Diocesan/ Cathedral Center. *See, Canon 2.3.4.* For more information about the Commission, contact the Rev. Deacon Tim Spannaus, Chairperson, at <u>deacon@tspannaus.com</u>.

Delegates to Provincial Synod -At the Annual Convention in the year prior to the General Convention of The Episcopal Church, one member of the clergy eligible to vote at Convention and two lay persons, all previously elected as deputies and alternate deputies to the General Convention, will serve as delegates from the Diocese to the Synod Council of the Fifth Province of The Episcopal Church (the "Provincial Synod"). The term will continue until the third Annual Convention following election. The Ecclesiastical Authority may designate a person to fill any vacancy that may occur in the representation of the Diocese to Provincial Synod. Each person so designated by the Ecclesiastical Authority shall have all the rights of a delegate duly elected. For more information, please contact Eric Travis, Chair of the General Convention Deputation at <u>etravis@edomi.org</u>

The Disciplinary Board - has replaced the Ecclesiastical Court and the Diocesan Review Committee under the provisions of the new Title IV Canons of The Episcopal Church which became effective July 1, 2011. Pursuant to Canon 6.1 of the Canons of the Diocese of Michigan, provision has been made for the Diocese of Michigan and the Diocese of Western Michigan to cooperate in the disciplinary process of any matter in either diocese, through the creation of a common Disciplinary Board. The Board is to consist of nine persons, five of whom are members of the Clergy and four of whom are Laity. At the 186th Annual Convention, two members, one clergy and one layperson, are to be elected from the Diocese of Michigan. **The term of office is 2 years.** The Disciplinary Board must meet within 60 days of the beginning (January 1) of each term and then as a disciplinary process requires. *See section IV of the Canons of the Episcopal Church – Ecclesiastical Discipline.*

The Standing Committee - serves as a council of advice to the Bishop; it examines persons in progress for ordination, and must consent to ordination; and it approves all property transfers and encumbrances of Diocesan property, including parish property. The Standing Committee consists of 8 members, 4 members of the clergy *entitled to vote at convention* and 4 laypersons who are *confirmed adult communicants in good standing* of a congregation entitled to vote at convention. Its responsibilities are determined principally by the Canons of General Convention. Two members, one member of the clergy and one layperson, are elected at each Annual Convention. **The term of office is 4 years.** The Committee <u>meets monthly</u> except July and August, at the Diocesan/Cathedral Center. *See Canon 2.3.3.* For more information about the Committee, contact Ann Putallaz, President, at annp1025@yahoo.com.

The Trustees of the Diocese - receive transfers of property to the Diocese for express purposes, and may receive funds from recognized congregations and other funds of the Diocese for investment purposes, invest such funds as directed or in their discretion as trustees they may determine; and to collect and receive all income from the funds, and pay out the net income for the purposes of the Diocese as established by Diocesan Council in the case of diocesan funds or pursuant and subject to the terms of the trust or trusts or other direction under which property or money has been received by it. The Trustees shall be composed of the Bishop and 15 other members, 3 clergy *entitled to vote at convention* and 12 laypersons who are *communicants in good standing* of a congregation admitted as a Voting Congregation. 4 members, one member of the clergy and 3 laypersons, are elected at each Annual Convention, so that their terms are staggered. **The term of office is 4 years.** The Trustees <u>meet quarterly</u> at the Diocesan/Cathedral Center. *See, Canon 2.3.5.* For more information about the work of the Trustees, contact The Rev. William Roberts, Secretary, at mayorw.roberts@sbcglobal.net.

Episcopal DIOCESE OF MICHIGAN

May 1, 2020 Please direct questions to: Canon J. Hardy, <u>jhardy@edomi.org</u>