Offices Open for Nomination The 189th Convention of the Diocese of Michigan

Cathedral Chapter (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 3 year term begins December 2023 Commission on Ministry (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 5 year term begins November 2023 Delegate to the Provincial Synod Meeting (1 clergy, 2 lay) (must be clergy or lay delegate/alternate to the 2025 General Convention) Disciplinary Board (2 clergy, 2 lay) - 2 year term begins January 2024 Standing Committee (1 clergy, 1 lay) - 4 year term begins November 2023

and from a list provided by the Bishop of the Diocese:

Trustees of the Diocese (1 clergy, 3 lay) - 4 year term begins December 2023

A brief description of the purpose and function of the offices for which persons are to be elected, and the specific qualifications for nominees, follows.

The Cathedral Chapter (1 clergy, 1 lay) - consists of eighteen people representing the Bishop, the Diocesan Convention, and the Vestry of the Cathedral Church of St. Paul, Detroit. The Chapter has the responsibility to oversee those activities at the Diocesan-Cathedral Center which are not those of a parish church. This includes management property affairs, tenant relationships, activities not intended for parochial purposes, and support of the activities of the Diocese. It is the body which operates the common space of the Diocesan-Cathedral Center at 4800 Woodward Avenue in Detroit. The term of office is 3 years. The Chapter meets quarterly at the Cathedral. See, Canon 2.5.3. For more information on the work of the Cathedral Chapter, please contact the Very Rev. S. Scott Hunter, Dean of the Cathedral at shunter@detroitcathedral.org

The Commission on Ministry (1 clergy, 1 lay) - assists the Bishop in development and affirmation of the ministry of all baptized persons. Among the duties of the Commission is the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry and assessment of readiness for it. It is to support and nurture persons accepted as postulants through ordination. This body has broad responsibilities for lifting up the opportunities for ministry of the word in this Diocese and the world. The Commission consists of the Bishop and 20 other members – 10 clergy who are entitled to vote at convention and 10 laypersons each of whom must be confirmed adult communicants in good standing of a congregation entitled to vote at convention. One-half are elected by members of convention, and the other half are appointed by the Bishop. One member of clergy and one layperson will be elected. The term of office is 5 years. The Commission meets monthly except in July and

August at the Diocesan/ Cathedral Center. See, Canon 2.3.4. For more information on the work of the Commission on Ministry, please contact the one of the co-chairs, the Rev. Claire Hickman, rector@stlukesferndale.org and Gwyneth Dugliss, gmdugliss@icloud.com

Delegates to Provincial Synod (1 clergy, 2 lay) - At the Annual Convention in the year prior to the General Convention of The Episcopal Church, one member of the clergy eligible to vote at Convention and two lay persons, all previously elected as deputies and alternate deputies to the General Convention, will serve as delegates from the Diocese to the Synod Council of the Fifth Province of The Episcopal Church (the "Provincial Synod"). The term will continue until the third Annual Convention following election. The Ecclesiastical Authority may designate a person to fill any vacancy that may occur in the representation of the Diocese to Provincial Synod. Each person so designated by the Ecclesiastical Authority shall have all the rights of a delegate duly elected. The 81st General Convention of the Episcopal Church will take place July 2024 in Louisville, Kentucky. For more information on the work of General Convention, contact *The Rev. Phil Dinwiddie*, rector@saintjamesgi.net, chair of the Deputation.

The Disciplinary Board (2 clergy, 2 lay) - has replaced the Ecclesiastical Court and the Diocesan Review Committee under the provisions of the new Title IV Canons of The Episcopal Church which became effective July 1, 2011. The term of office is 2 years. The Disciplinary Board exists to help in cases where clergy have been presented with charges under the Ecclesiastical Canons - Title IV of the Episcopal Church. In the event of a charge of clergy misconduct, members of Disciplinary Board must meet to review the matter. The board meets at least once a year soon after Diocesan Convention to elect a President of the Board and to be trained about their role. If the Disciplinary Board is called upon to consider a disciplinary matter, extended meetings are a possibility. In most years the board will not meet more often than the one time to elect the president. Obviously, if the board gets called into action, the work will be intense. The dioceses of Michigan, Eastern Michigan and Western Michigan have a joint Disciplinary Board. For more information on the work of the Disciplinary Board, please contact Canon Jo Ann Hardy at jhardy@edomi.org.

The Standing Committee (1 clergy, 1 lay) - serves as a council of advice to the Bishop; it examines persons in progress for ordination, and must consent to ordination; and it approves all property transfers and encumbrances of Diocesan property, including parish property. The Standing Committee consists of 8 members, 4 members of the clergy entitled to vote at convention and 4 laypersons who are confirmed adult communicants in good standing of a congregation entitled to vote at convention. Its responsibilities are determined principally by the Canons of General Convention. Two members, one member of the clergy and one layperson, are elected at each Annual Convention. The term of office is 4 years. The Committee meets monthly except July and August, at the Diocesan/Cathedral Center. See Canon 2.3.3. For more information on the work of the Standing Committee, please contact the president of the Standing Committee, the Rev. Bob Alltop at boballtop@gmail.com.

The Trustees of the Diocese (1 clergy, 3 lay) - receive transfers of property to the Diocese for express purposes, and may receive funds from recognized congregations and other funds of the Diocese for investment purposes, invest such funds as directed or in their discretion as trustees they may determine; and to collect and receive all income from the funds, and pay out the net income for the purposes of the Diocese as established by Diocesan Council in the case of diocesan funds or pursuant and subject to the terms of the trust or trusts or other direction under which property or money has been received by it. The Trustees shall be composed of the Bishop and 16 other members, 4 clergy entitled to vote at convention and 12 laypersons who are communicants in good standing of a congregation admitted as a Voting Congregation. 4 members, one member of the clergy and 3 laypersons, are elected at each Annual Convention, so that their terms are staggered. The term of office is 4 years. The Trustees meet quarterly at the Diocesan/Cathedral Center. See, Canon 2.3.5. For more information about the work of the Trustees, contact Mark Miliotto, Canon for Finance at mmiliotto@edomi.org.

