

APPROVED Minutes of Diocesan Council Meeting

Via ZOOM/Conference Call on Saturday, January 29, 2022, at 10:00 AM

In attendance:

Council Members: Bishop Bonnie A. Perry, Rae Lee Baxter, Dan Buchin, Toni Dennis, Martha Hanoian, Bruce Hinkle, Shirley Lappi, Karen Lewis, Alice Sawyer, Judith Schellhammer (Assisting Secretary), Cleda Smartt, Halim Shukair, Bill Stech, Luke Thompson, Edie Wakevainen (Secretary), Roger Weekes, Lynn Wiggins, Emily Williams Guffey

Diocesan Staff: Jo Ann Hardy (Canon to the Ordinary), Mark Miliotto (Canon for Finance)

Absent: Steven Steinberger-Domienik, Katie Walworth

Opening Prayer – Bishop Perry

Acceptance of Agenda – Edie Wakevainen

Rae Lee Baxter moved to approve, and Alice Sawyer seconded. Motion passed.

Bishop's Update

Bishop Perry discussed the Spirituality and Race Initiative and the Detroit Church Partnership. She proposed asking Wardens to give their clergy and lay staff an extra week of vacation in 2022. Council discussed this in small groups. Rae Lee Baxter moved to approve, and Karen Lewis seconded. Motion passed. Bishop Perry reminded everyone of the Vestry Day presentation and the Absalom Jones celebration in February.

Review of Financial Reports – Canon Miliotto presented a verbal report.

Property/Administrative Updates – Canon Hardy presented the following:

The 2022 Clergy Compensation Guidelines were presented with highlights of changes from the previous year. Cleda Smartt moved to approve, and Shirley Lappi seconded. Motion passed. Canon Hardy noted the importance of making sure that Letters of Agreement follow the guidelines.

Property Action Items:

- 1. Buyer of the former property of Emmanuel Head Start asked to renegotiate their land contract. A delinquent payment of \$5600 will be moved to the end of the contract. Shirley Lappi moved to approve, and Roger Weekes seconded. Motion passed.
- 2. Buyer of the former property of Trinity, Detroit has requested a one-year extension of their land contract. Judith Schellhammer moved to approve, and Cleda Smartt seconded. Motion passed. Judith Schellhammer moved that the land contract be negotiated in 2023 if no principal has been paid on it. Rae Lee Baxter seconded. Motion passed.
- 3. Buyer of the former property of St. Timothy's, Detroit has requested a three-year extension of their land contract. Dan Buchin moved to approve, and Martha Hanoian seconded. Motion passed.

Loans and Grants Committee Action Item – Bill Stech moved the following:

1. That Trinity, Belleville be awarded a grant of \$10,000 towards a \$57,000 roof replacement project, with funds being withheld until an audit is completed. Motion passed. (Alice Sawyer and Martha Hanoian abstained.)

Approval of November 2021 Minutes – Halim Shukair moved to approve, and Cleda Smartt seconded. Motion passed.

Organizational Session

Meeting Schedule (Saturday at 10:00 unless noted otherwise)

March 26, 2022

May 14, 2022 (8:30 a.m.)

June 15, 2022 (Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.)

September 17, 2022

November 12, 2022

Sexual Misconduct Policy - Edie Wakevainen

Each member is responsible for acknowledging the safe church/sexual misconduct policy. She will send by email a link to the policy on the diocesan website and paragraph of text which will serve as our acknowledgement this year. Instructions for what to do by return email will be included.

Role of Diocesan Council Members – Bishop Perry discussed the role of Council members and reminded everyone that this is presented in the Canons for the Diocese of Michigan.

Appointees/Elections

Registrar: Canon Jo Ann Hardy

Dean (Clergy member of Council): The Rev. Alice Sawyer

Warden (Lay member of Council): Lynn Wiggins

Secretary: Dr. Edie Wakevainen

Assistant Secretary: The Rev. Judith Schellhammer

Treasurer, Canon Mark Miliotto

Diocesan Chancellor, Mr. Stephen Ott, Esq. Vice Chancellor, Ms. Megan Norris, Esq.

Bishop's Canonical Appointments to Council

The Rev. Halim Shukair

Executive Committee of Council/Elections of Class Representatives

President/Chair - The Rt. Rev. Dr. Bonnie A. Perry

Canon to the Ordinary – Jo Ann Hardy

Treasurer – Canon Mark Miliotto (non-voting)

Secretary - Dr. Edie Wakevainen (non-voting)

Dean of Council – The Rev. Alice Sawyer

Warden of Council - Lynn Wiggins

Class of 2022 – Steve Steinberger-Domienik

Class of 2023 - Shirley Lappi

Class of 2024 - Katie Walworth

Approval of Diocesan Signatories for 2022

Canon Mark Miliotto

Canon Jo Ann Hardy

The Rt. Rev. Dr. Bonnie A. Perry (Bishop Perry has declined signing any checks)

Warden of Council Lynn Wiggins

Dean of Council The Rev. Alice Sawyer

Committees and Liaisons Assignments

Emrich Advisory – Steve Steinberger-Domienik, Bruce Hinkle

Mission Budget – Martha Hanoian, Karen Lewis, Bruce Hinkle, Bill Stech, Roger Weekes

Loans and Grants – Alice Sawyer, Halim Shukair, Bill Stech, Lynn Wiggins, Shirley Lappi

Audit – Steve Steinberger-Domienik (2022), Judith Schellhammer (2023), Lynn Wiggins (2024)

General Convention Resolution Review – Shirley Lappi, Luke Thompson

Committee on Nominations – Rae Lee Baxter, Karen Lewis, Judith Schellhammer, Cleda Smartt, Katie Walworth, Roger Weekes, Toni Dennis, Luke Thompson

Liaisons

Canterbury MSU – Toni Dennis

Canterbury U of M – Emily Williams Guffey

Covenant 5 - Dan Buchin

Whitaker – Karen Lewis

Closing Prayer – Halim Shukair

Respectfully submitted, Edie Wakevainen Edie Wakevainen, Secretary, Diocesan Council