

APPROVED Minutes of Diocesan Council Meeting

Via ZOOM/Conference Call on Saturday, November 11, 2023, at 10:00 AM

In attendance:

Council Members: Bishop Bonnie A. Perry, RaeLee Baxter, Jamie Taylor, Teri Landreth, Katie Walworth, Luke Thompson, Maryjane Peck, Gwyn Dugliss, Judith Schellhammer (assisting secretary), Michele Wogaman, Greg Wortley, Chris Harris, Karen Lewis, Jenny Ritter, Lynn Wiggins, Emily Williams Guffey

Chancellor: Steve Ott

Diocesan Staff: Jo Ann Hardy (COO, Canon to the Ordinary), Mark Miliotto (Treasurer, Canon for Finance)

Absent: Halim Shukair, Edie Wakevainen (secretary)

Opening Prayer – Bishop Perry

Welcome/Introduction of Council Members - Bishop Perry

BUSINESS MEETING

Acceptance of Agenda – Motion to accept by Maryjane Peck, seconded by Jenny Ritter. Motion passed.

Bishop's Time – Discussion of Convention: loved the energy present, missed the dance party, loved the video spotlights, maybe have the youth presence sit on the floor of Convention, enjoyed videos of diocesan activities Encourage Council to participate in the Civil Rights Pilgrimage

Approval of Minutes from September 2023 Meeting – Judith Schellhammer RaeLee Baxter moved to accept, seconded by Lynn Wiggins. Motion passed.

Finance Report & Overview - Mark Miliotto

Brief report on the current status. A complete overview will be given at the January meeting.

Housing Allowance Resolutions for Clergy Staff – Mark Miliotto

Mark Miliotto moved to accept the following housing allowance resolutions; RaeLee Baxter seconded. Motion

passed.

1. Whereas the Reverend Veronica Dunbar is employed as a minister of the Gospel of the Episcopal Diocese of

Michigan, which does not provide a residence for her, the Diocesan Council resolves that, of the salary to be

paid to Reverend Dunbar during 2024, \$12,272 be designated as parsonage allowance within the meaning of

that term as used in Section 107 of the IRS Code of 1986.

2. Whereas the Reverend Ellen Ekeveg is employed as a minister of the Gospel of the Episcopal Diocese of

Michigan, which does not provide a residence for her, the Diocesan Council resolves that, of the salary to be

paid to Reverend Ekeveg during 2024, \$69,065 be designated as parsonage allowance within the meaning of

that term as used in Section 107 of the IRS Code of 1986.

3. Whereas the Right Reverend Dr Bonnie A Perry is employed as a minister of the Gospel of the Episcopal

Diocese of Michigan, which does not provide a residence for her, the Diocesan Council resolves that, of the

salary to be paid to Reverend Perry during 2024, \$50,000 be designated as parsonage allowance within the

meaning of that term as used in Section 107 of the IRS Code of 1986.

4. Whereas the Reverend Susie Shaefer is employed as a minister of the Gospel of the Episcopal Diocese of

Michigan, which does not provide a residence for her, the Diocesan Council resolves that, of the salary to be

paid to Reverend Shaefer during 2024, \$49,000 be designated as parsonage allowance within the meaning of

that term as used in Section 107 of the IRS Code of 1986.

5. Whereas the Reverend Teresa Wakeen is employed as a minister of the Gospel of the Episcopal Diocese of

Michigan, which does not provide a residence for her, the Diocesan Council resolves that, of the annualized

salary to be paid to Reverend Wakeen during 2024, \$4,500 be designated as parsonage allowance within the

meaning of that term as used in Section 107 of the IRS Code of 1986.

Executive Session (as needed) – None needed

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

2024 Meeting Schedule – Jo Ann Hardy

Saturday, January 27 at 10:00 a.m. (Zoom)

2

Saturday, March 23 at 10:00 a.m. (Zoom)

Wednesday, May 15 at 7:00 p.m. (Zoom)

Saturday, June 15 at 10:00 a.m. (in person—location TBD)

Saturday, September 21 at 10:00 a.m. (Zoom)

Saturday, November 9 at 10:00 a.m. (Zoom)

Keep God's People Safer – Jo Ann Hardy

Council members were reminded to review the diocesan Safe Church Policy and sign their agreement to abide by it using the Formstack link provided. The most current version of the Policy is on the Diocesan website.

Role of Diocesan Council Members - Bishop Perry

Information about the role can be found in Canon 2.3.1 (Canon Hardy sent the link via email). Two questions were raised: On which areas should Council focus? What might racial reparations look like for Council?

Appointees – Bishop Perry

Registrar: Canon Jo Ann Hardy

Dean: The Rev. Chris Harris

Warden: Luke Thompson

Secretary: Dr. Edie Wakevainen

Assistant Secretary: The Rev. Judith Schellhammer

Treasurer: Canon Mark Miliotto

Diocesan Chancellor: Mr. Stephen Ott

Vice Chancellor: Ms. Megan Norris

A motion to approve the slate was made and seconded. Motion passed.

Executive Committee of Council/Elections of Class Representatives

President/Chair: The Rt. Rev. Dr. Bonnie A. Perry

Canon to the Ordinary: Jo Ann Hardy

Treasurer: Canon Mark Miliotto Secretary: Dr. Edie Wakevainen

Dean: The Rev. Chris Harris Warden: Luke Thompson

Class of 2024: Katie Walworth

Class of 2025: Greg Wortley

Class of 2026: Teri Landreth

RaeLee Baxter moved approval of the officers' slate as presented, and Karen Lewis seconded. Motion passed. Chris Harris moved approval of the class representatives, and Jenny Ritter seconded. Motion passed.

Approval of Diocesan Signatories for 2024

Canon Mark Miliotto

Canon Jo Ann Hardy

Canon Ellen Ekevag

The Rt. Rev. Dr. Bonnie A. Perry

Dean: The Rev. Chris Harris

Warden: Luke Thompson

Teri Landreth moved to accept, and Lynn Wiggins seconded. Motion passed.

Committee Appointments

Loans & Grants -- Lynn Wiggins, Maryjane Peck, Halim Shukair, Luke Thompson, Teri Landreth, Emily Williams Guffey

Greg Wortley moved to accept, and Jamie Taylor seconded. Motion passed.

Audit Committee – RaeLee Baxter (2024), Gwyn Dugliss (2025), Maryjane Peck and Michele Wogaman (2026)

Committee on Nominations (by deanery) -- Capitol - Greg Wortley, Detroit - Judith Schellhammer, Downriver - Gwyneth Dugliss, Huron Valley - Jenny Ritter, Lyster - Katie Walworth, McGehee - Chris Harris, Trinity - RaeLee Baxter

Maryjane Peck moved to accept, and Gwyn Dugliss seconded. Motion passed.

Mission Budget Committee – Karen Lewis, Michele Wogaman, Chris Harris, Emily Williams Guffey, Jamie Taylor

Jenny Ritter moved to accept, and Teri Landreth seconded. Motion passed.

Council Liaisons

Canterbury MSU – Karen Lewis

All Together Campus Ministries (Wayne State, U of M Dearborn, Henry Ford College) – Judith Schellhammer Canterbury U of M – Michele Wogaman

Jenny Ritter moved to accept, and Maryjane Peck seconded. Motion passed.

Closing Prayer – Emily Williams Guffey

Adjourn – 11:27 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Edie Wakevainen Edie Wakevainen, Secretary, Diocesan Council**

^{**}With gratitude to Assisting Secretary Judith Schellhammer who recorded notes for this meeting.