stained glass - simple.jpg
Standing Committee

Standing Committee


The Standing Committee consists of eight members, four members of the clergy entitled to vote at Convention and four laypersons who are confirmed adult communicants in good standing of a congregation that has been admitted as a Voting Congregation. Two members, one member of the clergy and one layperson, is elected at each Annual Convention.

The Standing Committee serves as the ecclesiastical authority of the diocese in the absence of a bishop. It serves as the bishop’s council of advice. The Standing Committee is requested to give consent for all bishops elected in the Episcopal Church. It recommends persons for ordination. It gives the bishop advice and consent on the purchase, sale, or encumbrance of any property held by a congregation or the diocese. It gives the bishop advice and consent as to any judicial sentence given to a clergy person or concurs in allowing a clergy person to cease functioning as a member of the clergy. It investigates and reports to the bishop on the charge that a deacon or priest has abandoned the Episcopal Church. It also receives the bishop’s resignation.


Standing Committee Roster 2023-2024

The Rev. Bob Alltop (President)
The Rev. Ronald Byrd, Sr.
The Rev. Jadon Hartsuff
Ms. Shirley Lappi
The Rev. Andrea Martin
Mr. John Messimer
Ms. Josephine Powell
Dr. George W. Swan, III